The Champaign County Soil and Water Conservation District is a local unit of government which has been in existence since 1943. It is governed by a five person board of directors, elected by landowners and land occupants within the District. The Directors, themselves landowners or land occupants, are given the responsibility of developing and administering a comprehensive natural resource conservation plan. The District receives its operating funds from The Illinois Department of Agriculture and the Champaign County Board.